top of page

May Milestones

Although my signature project this year has come to an end, there are several aspects of it that will help me in the future. Coming into this project, I had past experiences with the lab, so I was looking forward to continuing my experience and beginning a new project. This years project included several challenges along the way. The first challenge was reading several scientific articles and papers in order to learn background about the topic of prostate cancer and the impact of zinc on the transporter and its effect on mitochondrial functions. Then, it was necessary to understand in detail the procedure in order to efficiently carry out the experiment. Along the way, some of the trials produced unexpected results, in which case my mentor and I re-evaluated the situation and preceded with a second trial after specifically targeting the area of error. In addition, it was important for me to ask several questions in order to fully understand every step, every too, the purpose, and the outcome as a result. By doing this, I was able to maximize my learning experience and acquire a more robust skill set that will help me in my future endeavors.

bottom of page